Latest News!
Home » Editorials » Editor's Picks » Cherry Mobile Omega XL Review: Saksakan sa Sulit at Php7,999

Cherry Mobile Omega XL Review: Saksakan sa Sulit at Php7,999

Cherry Mobile Omega XL Review

Full Review of the Cherry Mobile Omega XL

We usually don’t use Tagalog for our titles but we couldn’t find a good English word to fully capture what “Saksakan sa Sulit” means!  The Cherry Mobile Omega XL is a ridiculous steal at Php7,999 because it offers spectacular performance, above average camera optics, and long lasting battery life. At it stands we believe that the Cherry Mobile Omega XL gives users superb value for money. We’d actually declare it the best buy out there today but the after sales service of Cherry Mobile is still questionable at this point so we can’t go all out on our recommendation, hehe.

Here are the specifications of the Cherry Mobile Omega XL once again for your perusal:

Cherry Mobile Omega XL Spec Sheet

  • 1.3GHz quad-core Mediatek MT6582
  • Mali-400MP2 GPU
  • 1GB RAM
  • 4GB internal storage, expandable via microSD Card
  • 6.0-inches IPS OGS qHD display, 960×540 pixels
  • Asahi DragonTrail Scratch Resistant Glass
  • 13.0-megapixels primary camera with LED flash
  • 8.0-megapixels secondary camera
  • Dual-SIM, Dual-Standby
  • WiFi, WiFi Hotspot, 3G, HSPA+, Bluetooth, GPS, aGPS
  • 2,450mAh battery
  • Android 4.2 Jellybean
  • SRP: Php7,999

As you can see, the specifications are impressive, especially if you think about the Php7,999 price tag. Perhaps the only major issue here is that it’s a phablet, hehe. 6.0-inches is not small and that’s well over the usual 5.0-inches display size. As such the Omega XL will definitely polarize consumers and not everyone will like it at the get-go just because it’s big.

Video Feature

For this review we put together a quick video which pretty much highlights the major points of this article. Check it out below since it should also give you a better idea of the design and build of the Omega XL.

For the Omega XL, It’s All About Performance

BOOM.

The Cherry Mobile Omega XL sports the 1.3GHz quad-core processor of MediaTek which is optimized for budget smartphones. The key word here is “optimized” because this actually kicks the butt of the “turbo quad-core” processor from the same manufacturer if you pair this with a qHD display and 1GB RAM. Check the unbelievable Antutu benchmark score above — over 17,000!

Now the good news is that this high number is actually justifiable because the real world user experience of the Omega XL is very good. This is another case of when NOT going full HD is a good decision because you don’t compromise performance. Basic and core functions run great with the exception of rare lag spikes that we encountered when we were using the basic messaging app (when looking up Contacts). When it comes to gaming, the Omega XL is a beast. We got nice frame rates throughout our Dead Trigger 2, NBA 2k14, and Zombie Tsunami sessions.

Cherry Mobile Omega XL Review l

Cherry Mobile Omega XL Review i

The huge 6.0-inch screen also gave more space to showcase the bloody evisceration of zombies in Dead Trigger 2 (always a joy gunning down hordes of undead, hehe). The slim and curved form factor also made it more manageable despite the huge display.

As expected all the other core and usual apps worked well including social networking, basic photo editing, and media playback. It was also a great device for browsing and reading. The big display is definitely put to good use anytime you consume media. If you use an app that will require you to type though be prepared to use two hands, hehe.

Cherry Mobile Omega XL Review c

Cherry Mobile Omega XL Review h

Over-all when it comes to performance there’s hardly anything we can fault the Cherry Mobile Omega XL for.

Battery Life: It Can Go the Distance

The Cherry Mobile Omega XL packs a 2,450mAh battery. We weren’t expecting it to do well considering the device has a huge 6.0-inch display. However it turns out it can actually go the distance! In our daily heavy use we got at least 8-10 hours out of it. That’s with 3G always on and brightness anywhere from 15%-30%. Since it’s really bright you won’t need to set it at a high level.

With light usage we extended it even more, all the way up to 16-17 hours. Definitely not bad at all. It looks like MediaTek really did a good job with making this new quad-core processor energy efficient.

Camera: Above Average!

We’re happy to report that the Cherry Mobile Omega XL packs above average optics in it. This was a pleasant surprise for us since Cherry Mobile doesn’t really have a good record when it comes to putting in good cameras in their devices.

Here are some sample shots:
2014-01-01 03.11.26

2014-01-01 03.11.43

2014-01-02 14.24.46-7

2014-01-02 20.38.45

As you can see color reproduction is above average and it’s also able to capture decent shots despite being in not-so-good lighting conditions. It’s not the best camera around but it’s definitely better than what a lot of other smartphones in this price range are offering!

Verdict: One of the Best Phablets Around

Cherry Mobile Omega XL Review g

Given the aggressive and affordable price point, competitive specifications, respectable camera, and reliable battery life, the Cherry Mobile Omega XL stands as one of the absolute best phablets in the market. It is, without a doubt, solid bang-for-your-buck.

Congratulations Cherry Mobile! You guys have a hot one here.

See Also:

Comments

comments

Powered by Facebook Comments

About Carlo Ople

Carlo is the Editor-in-Chief and Founder of Unbox.ph. During daytime he’s the Managing Director and Partner of a Digital Marketing Agency in the Philippines and by nighttime he’s living out his passion as a gadget enthusiast and story teller through Unbox.

68 comments

  1. Which is better, this or the Omega HD 2.0?

    • The OXL is a phablet through and through with a 6.0-inch display. If you’re looking for a phablet then this is it. If you still want a regular-sized smartphone the HD 2.0 might make more sense. Spec-wise though this one is ahead in terms of raw power.

      • What breed is your cat. I love it.

      • hi sir. i was a bit confused kung bakit parang mas sikat ang Omega XL kaysa Omega HD 2x. is there any major problem with the performance of OHd 2X? i’m planning to buy po kasi. i like the 5.7″ inch size, the 2gb ram and the 32gb internal storage. nalilito lang po ako kung baka may malaking problem with it’s performance. plss reply sir.:) thanks po.

      • is this one better than titan 2.0? right now they have the same market price and I can’t find a good review for titan 2.0, I’m torn between the 2…. (please don’t consider the battery because i have a power bank that i always carry with me) your reply is much appreciated thanks!

  2. anu pong mas mgandang screen reso omega hd 2.0 or omega xl? thanks!

  3. All the “hehes” make your articles tabloidal, anyway. Good review, however.

  4. Now my mind is boggling whether to choose Flare HD or Omega XL. >.< Sir, can you kindly do a quick pro's n con's between the two phones? Or your point-to-point comparison between the two, since you've already had an experience with the two aforementioned phones. Please? :)

    • Simply put — if you want a phablet, a big phone that has a big display, go for the OXL. If you want a smartphone that’s compact and slim, go for the Flare HD.

      • Indeed a good point of yours. Thank you. :) I want superiority in terms of performance, battery life, media – especially photos – but I want a phone below 4.5″ so I could still use it with only one hand especially when texting. Maybe, size does really matter to me that is why I am too confused on which one to have. Maybe, i’ll wait for the FHD. Im more on casual gaming eh. Not really a heavy gamer. Nonetheless, thank you very much sir Carlo. :)

  5. mas napansin ko pa yung mga action figures kesa sa phone na ni-review.. LOL

  6. is the battery removable?

  7. How about the front camera? And is it true that the front camera haas a bsi sensor

    • Hi Blake!

      We completely overlooked that. We took the photos already but we forgot to include them in the article. We’ll edit and upload the front camera pics by tonight. Thanks for pointing that out!

  8. Hi sir. Anu po mas maganda, OXL o Cosmos X? On sale po kasi yung Cosmos X nakaraan 7.9k na lang din. TIA

  9. May USB OTG din po ba OXL?

  10. sorry for mistake statement. it was intended be a question. sorry po :((
    How about the front camera? And is it true that the front camera haas a bsi sensor?

  11. hi, sana sir mareview din yung lenovo a850

  12. very good review, one quick question, washout ba ang display nito? mallit ang ppi at 160.

  13. Hi sir Carlo :) … OTG capable po ba yung omega XL?

  14. Hi sir carlo. I saw your video review of ohd2.0 where you pointed out the aperture difference of ohd and ohd2.0 that gives the ohd the edge on photography. I am really interested with ohdxl so i wanna know if it has similar sensor/aperture with ohd or at least do you think its the same. Your answer/opinion would truly help. Thank you.

  15. vanessa delac cruz

    just want to know if there is a screen shot in this omega XL. thats just the thing i cant find in the settings. pls answer/help thank you.

  16. ser.. i have a problem with my omega XL bought last january 15, 2014… i dont if the problem is touch or factory defect because there are time that i press home button or long press of home.. many apps will open and it will close and it will back to normal.. what should i do?

    • paki-check po yung pointer speed ng cp mo baka nakatodo, kasi kapag ganu e super sensitive sa touch ang cp kung kayat kung ano-ano ang bumubukas. Go to System Settings, Language & input, Pointer speed.

  17. Mas Maganda po ba to kesa sa Kata i3?

  18. Just bought my CM OXL last Saturday Jan 18, 2014, so far so goodie ^_^
    I read about your review first before I bought it. Twas my first time to read reviews before buying. Got it much cheaper. Thank you very much for the good review..

  19. ok na sana ung Omega XL, kaso walang notification LED…

  20. I think this is better than ohd 2.0, just by looking at their different benchmarks.

  21. may wifi direct po ba to??

  22. Sir carl, tanks po sa mga info nyo. Tanong ko lang po if its normal for omega xl when you open an application then use the back key eh nagbablack screen muna then split sec pa bago lalabas yung theme. Thanks po in advance ang reply..

  23. Hi sir! pde po ba mag skype sa cherry mobile xl? thanks!

  24. just wanna ask sir if magkano mag pa replace ng lcd screen ng omegaXL… any idea? na sira kc ung lcd ko.. thanks po

  25. wala ka bang front cam shot? ^_^

  26. got this phone yesterday and im sooo loving it… even the front cam sobrang linaw my flash pa.. perfect pang selfie hahaha… my only complain is nahihinaan ako sa sound ng earphone kht inadjust ko na ung equalizer ska nag palit ear phone wla pa din….

  27. Di po ba madaling masira ang OXL ? Anong mas better ? Myphone a919i Duo o OXL ?

  28. sayang di kasama si CM APOLLO hahahaha

  29. Hi Sirs,

    OTG capable po ba ang CM OXL ?

    thanks

  30. Hi Sirs,

    OTG capable po ba ang CM OXL ?

    thanks

    • ito rin sana tanong ko. kasi last night gagamitin ko sana ung emulator ng playstation at gagamitin ko ung ps controller… ayaw po mabasa….. so im guessing baka hindi yta otg capable

    • Sori,no otg for this phone – oxl user very happy

  31. sir i just want to ask lng po if ok po ba ang kuha ng camera ng omega xl especially sa gabi?
    thanks po

  32. Is it upgradable to OS Kitkat.pls respond

  33. IPS at OGS po ba ito?

    Tnx for answering my question

  34. Di po ba BSI yung front cam nya? Ouch! Maganda na sana kung BSI ren….

    BSI po ba o hindi?

    Need answer please?

    Tnx!

  35. i buy omega xl yesterday.. and it was good to used un nga lang ndi ko alam kung paano off ung tone sa start up.. help me pls.. tnx.. :)

  36. How to do screenshot in Omega XL? Please i need some help..

  37. kakarecieve ko lang kahapon ng omega xL. ang ganda niya. :)) pero hindi ko lang alam pano MAG SCREENSHOT. Help Please? :(

  38. everything s perfectly working on OXL d only thing i wanna ask is how to screenshot using the device….help pls.thanks

  39. To take a screen shot on omega xl and I think on any other android, push down volume and power button simultaneously.

  40. Kya po bng mg play n2 ng mga HD n movie?

  41. I already upgraded it into android kitkat at some cellphone repair shops and it runs smoothly.

  42. which is better? omega icon or omega xl? camera wise

  43. Please help gus2 ko kz bumili n2 omega xl ang gus2 ko lang malaman kung quad band po b ito pd b gamitin sa ibng bansa ito

  44. I’m planning to buy omega xl, saan po mayroon available agad?

  45. bumili ako ng Omega XL nto lang martes ask ko lang kasi naka lagay sa box nya 4gig poer nung tinignan kko ung sa phone 2.62 lang dapat dba pag 4gig mga around 3.62 dpat ganun ba tlga ang XL? please reply

  46. I had this phone for 4 months now and it has given me consistent performance. Compare the price from other phones and the specs. That’s usually how i choose my phone.

    -Very satisfied Oxl user

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>